• visual diary

  • another perspective

  • Earlier Posts

Where did those words come from – Day 18

Word Count – 45,812

As I write this post I admit that I am in shell shock.  I am not sure where all those words have come from.  The rush to the finish line on word count is well in my grasp, but am I writing a never ending story?

This is my first year on the NaNoWriMo journey, and my first attempt at writing a novel.  I have no idea what I am doing but thanks to the generosity of other bloggers I am getting a sense of it all.  I have surprised myself that I am even at this point at all.  The last 10K are just getting gobbled up.

I have been so caught up in the flow that I haven’t even posted more characters as promised days ago.  I think at the time I was procrastinating.  It was fun making them on HeroMachine than tackling the then monumental word count.

Last night, I did take time out.  I want to do the 50K but not much more, but I do want to finish with a reasonable story line – well one that at least will have a start, a middle, and an end.  I am getting all these other ideas now on twist and inneuendo that I could build into the story line, but there are some half chapters still there that to be finished, and I have to complete them, otherwise the chasms are too great for even the most inspired reader to navigate their way through the story.

It is only now, with just over 4K to go, that I have any sense of this storyline.  I hadn’t actually planned on my MC to be the MC (I guess that is the joy of writing with literary abandon), other characters have simply fizzled they have run out of things to say.

So, as much as I first thought that this was going to be a story about the eternal battle of good and evil in a corporate/ mashed fantasy context, it has become a story of internal struggle from possession – through doubt – to utter dismay – to acceptance.  There is still evil, there are still heroes, there is change, corporate takeovers, and magic but they are contextual and not as extreme and juxtaposed as I initially thought they would be.

Time to take time out.

One Response

  1. […] novel « The …romance novel blogsGoogle Using Novel Content as a Ranking Signal? -SEO by the SeaWhere did those words come from – Day 18 « Corporate Heroes – A NovelThe Official Star Wars Blog » Write a Science Fiction Novel in 30 …Blogs That May Also be of […]

Leave a Reply

