• visual diary

  • another perspective

  • Earlier Posts

Do the Heroes win in the end? – Day 23

Word Count: 54077

As it so happens the age old question as to whether the heroes are victorious in the end is not resolved in this story, recently re-titled from “The (not so) secret society of corporate heroes” to “Zetoec”.  I am more than comfortable though that there is no clear resolution for there never is in life, and any decision we make we could always contemplate a what if scenario.

The heroes are not so perfect and the villains are not intrinsically evil – they all have their own individual histories.

Over the past day I have resolved the logistical dilemma in the plot of getting my heroes from Point A to Point B.   They needed to get to Point B, otherwise the earlier written opening and concluding chapters were  not going to make sense.  Perhaps it’s flagging motivation, but my inner critic has reared his ugly head in these final stages, and finishing the story is becoming a challenge.

I sense that within a day or so, I will be drawing the line and marking the end of my NaNoWriMo journey for 2008.

5 Responses

  1. Don’t worry. The thing about NaNo is that it is not necessary to produce a nicely tied up end product. Kick that inner editor back into the closet for another week, and don’t feed it.

    When I did it last year, the last 10,000 came easy because all I had to do was wrap up the enormous number of loose ends I’d created in my story. Consider just doing that as best you can.

    Sice this year was wiped out for me by external circumstances, I can’t wait for next year. Since you began this for NaNo, will you end the blog when NaNo ends?

  2. Congrats on the NaNo achievement… and good luck tying it all up! I finally just got to my own Point B as well…after 30, 000 words! It may never end 🙂

  3. I want more! Are you going to publish the 50K novel? I can’t wait to read it. More! More! More!!! (please)

  4. Thanks everyone for the words of encouragement. As to whether I will publish or not mullygrub, I will have to see how I feel about it after November. I am taking djcnor’s advice shoving the editor back into the cupboard.

  5. Post Script: Hi djcnor – On Day 25, I “finished” the story, but I will continue to post and dedicate this site to NaNoWriMo for the rest of this month as post- novel recovery therapy. Where this site then goes to – I’ll have to see (maybe it will transform, I have certainly grown attached to it!)

Leave a Reply

