• visual diary

  • another perspective

  • Earlier Posts

Limited Vocabulary – Day 29

During Nano 2008 I became acutely aware of how limited my vocabulary was. English is my native tongue but there are so many magnificent words out there that didn’t come naturally to me when I was writing.

I don’t know if I will do Nano next year, but in the meantime I do want to expand my access to the English language. Over the past few days, I had been devising ways in which to do that – randomly select a word from the dictionary each day (or so) and write a post on that.

Then last night I came across a great idea by Saturday Scribes where they post a theme and a number of words regularly for others to write a creative piece and submit it to the site. Could be lots of fun!

5 Responses

  1. Congrats on winning nano! (and is it just me or does the winner icon look like the Dawn Treader from Narnia… oh well…)

    I can totally agree about realising through writing that I want to know more words… when I’ve written lunged about five times in one page, I’m sitting there going, I need another word! (and yes, leapt and darted and jumped, etc all got a workout too). šŸ˜‰

    The Saturday Scribes thing sounds interesting and I shall have to check that out.

  2. The dictionary word post idea is positively brilliant!

    I once dared a woman to write a blog post about Vituperative. It was the best idea I’ve ever had.

    Again, your idea is brilliant!

  3. Thanks Starre for visiting my site. I agree with you that the winner’s icon is similar to the Dawn Treader. When I did wordle on Zetoec (see Synopsis – Day 26), my most common word was “Time” but “though” and “just” got a regular workout.

  4. Officer Gleason – thanks for your encouragement re: the dictionary idea.

  5. Hey Virtual Hippe!

    Go to dictionary.com (if you want to : ) and sign up for the word of the day.

    You get a new word a day in your email, it’s really cool — just like you, I wanted to expand my vocabulary, and it’s helped a lot!

    I was thinking that next year I’ll do my NaNo novel using the word of the day in each day’s writing.

    Em

Leave a Reply

