• visual diary

  • another perspective

  • Earlier Posts

Day of Reckoning: Day 30

Today is officially the last day of NaNoWriMo 2008. I promise that this will be my last post for the 2008 Nano experience. I want to thank everyone who shared their journey along the way. During the month, I regularly read the posts from fellow NaNoers and their experiences were inspirational and comforting – particularly on the days when I felt quite lost in the process. I also picked up a lot of great writing tips along the way.

Today, I made up some booklets out of the draft script – that adhesive felt I have had stored in the bottom drawer turned out to be a great way to bind the books. The story is unedited, riddled with mistakes and contains some really clunky bits – but there are some phrases with potential. At the beginning of the month, I had promised to share the story as written with some friends (for them, the book is in the mail!). It will then be the day of reckoning – the days when someone else other than myself will get to read the story – I am curious as to what the feedback will be – hopefully brutally honest and then I will decide what the next step should be.

Tomorrow is the first day of a new month, and the first day of a new challenge. I will attempt to improve my vocabulary. The random word chosen from the dictionary just happens to be “PHYTOCHROME”. Yeah – I am sure I can do something with that! First though I am going to redesign this site.

Congratulations to all the Nano 2008 winners, and to those that are sprinting towards the end in the last few hours. Perhaps I will see you again next year! And to those that may not end up with a badge, it is still admirable that you set out on a journey and November is not the only month of the year when you can write!

7 Responses

  1. Thanks very much for reading along – I know just the idea of other writers like yourself makes it easier for me to press on. And congrats on your own victory.

  2. hmmm… i hope i will be receiving a package soon! i can’t wait wait to read it to see how it all comes together. Well done! i am so proud of your achievement over the month… so now on to the next thing! hehe

  3. I think your word of the day thing is a great idea! I think I might join you.

  4. Congratulations! It’s so nice to hear what people get out of NaNoWriMo. I think it’s an excellent experience and I heartily endorse it. Good luck in your next writing pursuits.

  5. Congratulations! I like the idea of your new challenge for December.

  6. Congratulations on your NaNoWriMo win! Hooray for you!!!!!!!

    Uh-oh, what’s that I hear? Out the window? A parade? A NaNo parade for you!

    Hooray!

    I also agree — even if a person doesn’t finish in NaNo-time, they still have a book started and work done on it. That’s precious, too.

    Writing goes on 365 days a year, NaNo or not.

    Em

  7. Thanks everyone for your comments! and for those that will join me on the dictionary challenge – I would love to share the ride with you. Em – I will check out the dictionary.com site, and Koshermuffin – love the idea for Nano next year!

Leave a Reply

