• visual diary

  • another perspective

  • Earlier Posts

Rewards and Awards

Word Challenge # 3 – Shelduck

Awards – no matter how small – a slip of paper or a widget badge have so much more meaning than the object themselves.  Last night, my son was presented with a science award at his school presentation night.  On the stage, he tried to look so humble and bashful but I could see the pride welling up inside him.  It was the same feeling I had win I achieved my goals in NaNoWriMo this year.  None of us should feel ashamed of basking in our own glory, and celebrating for the moment for there are too many other life experiences that will leave us feeling hurt or ashamed.

However, the biggest reward was when we drove home last night, we saw the moon, venus and jupiter in triple conjunction lighting the sky – not in the shape of the smiley face promised to those that live in the Southern Hemisphere, but a sad face.  On Monday night, we had walked the suburb to find a vantage point to see the smiley face, but the overcast sky obstructed our efforts. We had maintained a philosophical air to hide our disappointment – perhaps we will see it in 36 years time.  However, last night the sky was clear and there it was a magnificent sight and it reminded me of the poem that  leftywritey penned earlier this week.

I am not sure at what moment, I felt the happiest – hugging my son on his award, or the reward of seeing this astronomical sight together.

By the way – I did complete my word challenge. Just click here to read my creative piece using “Shelduck”

Next random word is “Quadrature”

3 Responses

  1. Awwww, thank you so much for the link! I smiled to think we were both looking at this beautiful event — it was actually clear enough for us to see it very well. I’m glad you did get a chance to see it.

    Em : )

  2. It was incredible and I really enjoyed your poem.

  3. Awwww, thank you.

    I’m so glad you liked it. : )

    Em

Leave a Reply

